Arts in Education Awards

2019 Honorees

Arts in Education Awards History

Since 1997, Young Audiences of Northeast Texas has supported the arts in education and partnered with educators to bring unique arts experiences to students, teachers and schools. Our Arts in Education Awards event will honor the true heroes of the arts in our schools, arts educators themselves.

Young Audiences presents awards for Arts Teaching Excellence in six categories, Elementary, Middle, High School, Rising Star, Distinguished Service to the Profession, and Lifetime Achievement.

Awards include grants and free arts experiences for your school presented by a Young Audiences teaching artist. The selection committee will include members of local businesses, local educators, patrons of the arts, and Young Audiences Board members.

Award Nominations

The 2019 Arts in Education Awards
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Willow Brook Country Club | 7pm

Our most prestigious award, The Lifetime Achievement Award will now be The Kay Arms Lifetime Achievement Award.  Founding board member and supporter, Kay Arms has dedicated her life to Young Audiences and the success of the students in Northeast Texas; she has been diligent in making sure the arts were, and remain a part of the core curriculum. It is our honor to celebrate Kay along with our seven award winners at this year’s Arts in Education Awards.  Please join us!

2019 Arts in Education Awards Honorees

Laura-Swartz-headshot slate
Laura Swartz
Birdwell Elementary (Tyler ISD)
Kay Arms Lifetime Achievement Award
Chauncy B.Williams headshot slate
Chauncy Williams
Winona High School (Winona ISD)
Rising Star Award
Adrienne-Stine headshot slate
Adrienne Stine
Boulter Middle School (Tyler ISD)
Rising Star Award
Kristin Pool headshot slate
Kristin Pool
Rice Elementary (Tyler ISD)
Arts Teaching Excellence Award:
Amy Bailey Headshot slate
Amy Bailey
EJ Moss Intermediate (Lindale ISD)
Arts Teaching Excellence Award: Middle
Dana Headshot slate
Dana Sepko
Caldwell Elementary (Tyler ISD)
Distinguished Service to the Profession Award
Amy Clemens Headshot slate
Amy Clemens
Robert E. Lee High School (Tyler ISD)
Arts Teaching Excellence: High
The Kay Arms Lifetime Achievement Award 

 Presented to an educator who has dedicated his or her life to arts education.

Past Winners:

Denny Whitley (Whitehouse ISD) 2018

Johnny Ray (All Saints Episcopal School) 2018

Carolyn Stewart (Tyler ISD) 2017

Distinguished Service to the Profession

Presented to an educator who has not only provided outstanding service to his or her students but also to his or her colleagues and the field of arts education.

Past Winners:

Darren Richardson (Gladewater ISD) 2018

Kimberley Funderburk (Carthage ISD) 2017

Rising Star Award

Presented to an arts educator demonstrating excellence in his or her first 3 years of teaching.

Past Winners:

Alison Adkins (Mineola ISD) 2018

Neil Hicks (Tyler ISD) 2017

Arts Teaching Excellence Awards

Presented to an elementary, middle and high school arts teacher who has gone above and beyond in their field.

Past Winners:

Cynthia Dempsey (Tyler ISD) 2018

Glenn Ballard (The Brookhill School) 2018

Derek Johnson (Tyler ISD) 2017

Lina Lininger (Tyler ISD) 2017

Christine Killian (Whitehouse ISD) 2017